About Us AN INDEPENDENT CHARITY FOUNDED BY PARENTS WITH DISABLED CHILDREN  Ryedale Special Families began in the early 1990’s when a group of 20 families of disabled children started to meet in their own homes in order to share challenges and experiences, as well as offer mutual support to each other.  

In 1997 Ryedale Special Families became a registered charity, took on its first employee, a Development Officer and moved into its first office, which was based in Welburn Hall School, near Kirkbymoorside. Since that time we have moved to our current location in Old Malton, expanded our workforce to over 30 full and part time employees, and now provide support to over 400 families throughout the Ryedale area. 
Although we have grown significantly since those early years, our fundamental principles have not changed, with our work being overseen by 12 parent trustees. Today we have 5 office staff, 27 sessional staff and are also supported by 8 volunteers. 
From 1st April 2017 Ryedale Special Families became a CIO - Charitable Incorporated Organisation no. 1170988. Our first year accounts will be available in November 2018. The full accounts for the charity 1069586 are available here  
Our annual review and edited accounts for the year 2016 to 2017 can be viewed here 

Our Objectives are: 

'The relief of children and young adults with disabilities and special needs, their families and/or carers, in particular, but not exclusively, by the provision of an information, advice and support service'. 
We believe in the equal rights of disabled families. We work to uphold these rights and campaign to strengthen them. We also offer routes into local and national planning and make sure that the voices of families, and young people with disabilities are clearly heard. 
Ryedale Special Families is a registered provider of care with North Yorkshire County Council and is registered to provide domiciliary care with the Care Quality Commission. 

RSF Policies